Queen Victoria Hospital appoints new non-executive directors

Thursday 25th May 2023

Queen Victoria Hospital appoints new non-executive directors

Peter O’Donnell, Shaun O’Leary and Russell Hobby CBE have been appointed non-executive directors at Queen Victoria Hospital, taking up their roles in July.

They will join Karen Norman and Paul Dillon-Robinson to complete our team of non-executive directors.

Peter O’Donnell, is an experienced board director, chair, chief executive, and chief finance officer, with a wide range of experience. He is currently non-executive director at Nottingham Building Society and a trustee at charity Cardiac Risk in the Young (CRY).

Shaun O’Leary, is currently Chair of St Wilfrid’s Hospice and former joint chief executive of St Christopher’s Hospice. Prior to that he was chief executive of St Catherine’s Hospice. He has over 30 years’ experience working in the health and social care charity sector, including 25 years at senior management level.

Russell Hobby CBE, is an experienced executive who has worked in the education and charity sectors, for trade unions and management consultancy. He is the chief executive of social mobility charity Teach First and holds a number of board and advisory positions. He was awarded his CBE in the 2022 New Year’s Honours list for services to education.

Jackie Smith, Chair of the Board of Queen Victoria Hospital, said: “Peter, Shaun and Russell have a wide range of skills and backgrounds that will bring independence and experience to our Board. We look forward to welcoming them in July. I would also like to extend my thanks to Gary Needle, senior independent director, and Kevin Gould, non-executive director, for their commitment and contribution to Queen Victoria Hospital over the last six years.”

For more information, please email the QVH Press Office at qvh.communications@nhs.net